Events

Our Next Event:

Prout Sisters’ Convention

Sunday, July 17, 2022

OPENING REMARKS

6:00 AM EDT/ 10:00 AM GMT:

Opening remarks and introduction to the day.

THE FIRST SESSION

6:05 EDT/10:05 GMT:

Introduction of the first speaker, Dr. Ivana Milojević.  

6:25 EDT/10:25 GMT:

Introduction of the second speaker, Nicola Tareha 

6:42 EDT/10:42 GMT:

Introduction of the third speaker, Nada Khader.

6:55 EDT/10:55 GMT:

Panel discussions/ Q and A for the panelists, followed by break out rooms and discussions.

7:27 EDT/11:27 GMT:

Wrap up of the first session.

YOGA and RELAXATION CLASS ONLINE

7:30 EDT/11:30 GMT:

Online yoga and meditation class led by Anna Anandii Gibson.

GLOBAL NETWORKING and SOCIALIZING for 1/2 HOUR

8:30 EDT/ 12:30 GMT:

Half hour of networking with women from around the world. Enjoy the chance to meet others interested in social change.

THE SECOND SESSION

9:00 EDT/ 13:00 GMT:

Opening remarks by Nada Khader: Session Moderator (see bio below).

9:05 EDT/ 13:05 GMT:

Nada will introduce the second session and the panelists.

9:08  EDT/ 13:08 GMT:

There will be a panel of women from Croatia, Syria, Ukraine, Afghanistan, Israel / Palestine and Tigray / Ethiopia. Panel discussion and questions to the panel.

9:45 EDT/ 13:45 GMT:

Summary and close of the discussion.

CLOSING OF SESSION TWO

9:55 EDT/ 13:55 GMT:

Cristine Terribile will make remarks about Prout Sisters events and introduce the Art Share Team.

ART SHARE

10:00 EDT/ 14:00 GMT:

Art Share (details to follow)

EVENT WRAP-UP and FUTURE PLANS

10:45 EDT / 14:45 GMT:

CLOSE OF THE EVENT; sharing of details for the future.


SPEAKERS BIOS

First Session

Dr. Ivana Milojević

(Serbia/Australia)

is a researcher and an educator with a professional background in sociology, gender, peace and futures studies. Originally from former-Yugoslavia she now resides at the Sunshine Coast, Australia, where she is an Adjunct Professor (University of the Sunshine Coast, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences). Since 2008, Dr Milojević has also been Visiting Professor at the Association of Centres for Interdisciplinary and Multidisciplinary Studies and Research, University of Novi Sad, Serbia. Dr Milojević is the author of over 60 journal articles and has taught at several universities around the globe. 

Nicola Tareha

(New Zealand/Australia)

qualified as a teacher in the 1980’s specializing in Peace Studies and the Developing World. She acquired additional qualifications in Nursing, Emergency Management and Indigenous Studies (notably, “Maori Development” and “Aboriginal People, Spirituality and Reconciliation”).  She has also been influenced by Prabhat Rainjan Sarkar’s Neo-Humanist Education philosophy based on plant and animal rights. This led her to run Neo-Humanist kindergartens in Italy, the Netherlands and Iceland for more than a decade.

Nada Khader

(Palestine / USA)

has served as the Executive Director of WESPAC Foundation for the past 21 years.  WESPAC was recently recognized by the City of White Plains as a leading force in Westchester County for peace and justice work for over four decades.  Nada discovered the Progressive Utilization Theory (PROUT) in the early 1990s and, influenced by its concepts of local self-reliance, cooperative economics and the guarantee of minimum necessities of life for all, she has served on the board of the Prout Alliance (USA), ProutSisters, and Proutist Women of North America.

Second Session

Zarina Reza

(Afghanistan)

completed her college education at Kabul University and currently serves as the Deputy Director of Human Resources for Sahebe Financial Services.  She has also served as the Head of Procurement for World Black Star Logistic Service, an Afghan owned company that provides logistic and supply services for humanitarian, NGO and other organizations doing work inside Afghanistan. For the past several years, she has been working to support women in their endeavors to generate income from their handicrafts. This work has been crucial in the context of political upheavals and military conflict.

Suha Salman Mousa

(Palestine/Israel)

is the executive director of Mossawa Center, the Advocacy Center for Palestinian Arab citizens of Israel, which promotes Palestinian Arab rights and a democratic society.  Suha led the initiative to establish Friends of Mossawa in the USA, promoting the center’s work abroad.   Suha and the Mossawa Center believe that Palestinian citizens of Israel have the potential to shift the political landscape in Israel and build a multi-ethnic coalition advocating for a just and long-lasting peace in the region.

Rasha Falhoot

(Syria)

holds an MBA in Human Resources from the Mahatma Gandhi University in Rajasthan, India. She is the Founder and General Manager for the Athena Center for Education and Human Development, as well as the Founder of the Athena Developmental Forum. The latter holds local forums to help with community development. She also developed a women’s empowerment project aimed at economic self-sufficiency and cooperation through building the local food movement in Syria and has helped with relief and development for war-impacted children.

Anzhelika Kornieva

(Ukraine)

is a psychologist by education and before that worked as a Human Resources manager for Netcracker, a global IT company. Anzhelika temporarily relocated to Denmark recently and continues her learning journey focused on the depths of the human psyche, tools of psychology and yoga.

Ariam Kidane

(Tigray, Ethiopia)

her info is coming soon.

View All Previous Events
%d bloggers like this: